The best in village and rural living

2017 Heritage Awards

Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council is pleased to announce that nominations are now being taken for the 2017 Local Heritage Awards.
The annual Heritage Awards recognise projects that maintain and promote the restoration, preservation and sympathetic additions/alterations to heritage buildings within the Queanbeyan-Palerang Local Government Area (LGA).
The awards coincide with the 20th anniversary of the Heritage Festival in Queanbeyan.  The winners will be announced at the Queanbeyan Historical Museum – 10 Farrer Place Queanbeyan on Saturday 22 April 2017.
There are three award categories:
1. Heritage Award Category 1 - Restoration of a heritage building – Commercial or Residential.
2. Heritage Award Category 2 - New building design / Adaptation / Heritage Garden.
3. Heritage Award Category 3 – Outstanding Promotion / Contribution to Heritage.
Applicants entering the first two categories should address the following;
• Building works must have been completed in the last three years,
• Be sympathetic to the original building fabric and to the context of the surrounding area,
• Provide ongoing positive use/reuse of the building,
• Be located in the Queanbeyan-Palerang Local Government Area,
• Have Council approval or be exempt development.
Applicants entering the third category should address the following;
• This category is awarded to a group or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the education and/or promotion of local heritage in Queanbeyan,
• This could include research, photography, recordings, books or restoration of heritage objects etc,
• This category also includes any tradesman who has done outstanding work on a heritage property.
All entries will be considered by members of Council's Heritage Advisory Committees.  The judges’ decision will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.
• Heritage Award Category 1 winner will be awarded $1,000 cash prize plus a framed certificate.
• Heritage Award Category 2 winner will be awarded $1,000 cash prize plus a framed certificate.
• Heritage Award Category 3 winner will be awarded a framed certificate.
• Winners will be announced and presented during Council’s Heritage Festival celebrations on Saturday 22 April 2017 at the Queanbeyan Historical Museum

• The closing date for nominations is close of business Friday 7 April 2017.
• A nomination form and information pack is available to download below. Alternatively you can contact Council's Strategic Land Use Planning Team on (02) 6285 6276.
• Nominations can be emailed to or posted to Heritage Awards, PO Box 90, Queanbeyan  NSW  2620.

2017 Nomination Form (PDF)

2017 Nomination Form (Word)